Screenwriter Profile: Oliver Stone

The Writer:

Oliver Stone has written, directed, and produced some of the most powerful films of the last thirty years. His films are always controversial, dark, and unforgettable. Known for writing such classics as Scarface, Platoon, Born on the Fourth of July, Natural Born Killers, and Evita, Stone is a true Hollywood legend.

Credits:

Wall Street: Money Never Sleeps (characters) – 2010

Singularity (short) (short film “Michael & Marie”) – 2008

Alexander (written by) – 2004

America Undercover (TV series documentary) – 2004

Comandante (documentary) (narration) – 2003
Any Given Sunday (screenplay) – 1999

Evita (screenplay) – 1996

Nixon (written by) – 1995
Natural Born Killers (screenplay) – 1994

Heaven & Earth (screenplay) – 1993

JFK (screenplay) – 1991

The Doors (written by) – 1991

Born on the Fourth of July (screenplay) – 1989

Talk Radio (screenplay) – 1988

Wall Street (written by) – 1987

Platoon (written by) – 1986

8 Million Ways to Die (screenplay) – 1986

Salvador (written by) – 1986

Year of the Dragon (screenplay) – 1985

Scarface (screenplay) – 1983

Conan the Barbarian (written by) – 1982

The Hand (screenplay) – 1981

Midnight Express (screenplay) – 1978

Seizure (written by) – 1974

Last Year in Viet Nam (short) (uncredited) – 1971

Quotes:

I consider my films first and foremost to be dramas about individuals in personal struggles and I consider myself to be a dramatist before I am a political filmmaker. I’m interested in alternative points of view. I think ultimately the problems of the planet are universal and that nationalism is a very destructive force. I also like anarchy in films. My heroes were Buñuel and Godard. Breathless was one of the first pictures I really remember being marked by, because of the speed and energy. They say I’m unsubtle. But we need above all, a theatre that wakes us up: nerves and heart.

I love intelligent films that come at you fast. I don’t have attention deficit disorder, my mind moves fast. There’s a lot to deal with in my films. We had so many facts to go through, so the governing style was flash, cut, flash, repeat.

I wasn’t prophetic. It was there all around us. Money was the sex of the 1980s.

3 Responses to “Screenwriter Profile: Oliver Stone”

  1. Just curious, what is your favorite of Stone’s work? I just watched and reviewed Savages and Natural Born Killers, but I’ve got to say that by far my favorite film by his is still Platoon. I recognize that any film
    maker who takes as many risks as Stone is bound to rub a lot of viewers the wrong way a good portion of the time, but without boldness in movie making we would never have been given some of our most classic films.

    In any case feel free to check out my reviews of Savages and Natural Born Killers, I always love feedback from fellow bloggers 🙂

    http://rorschachreviews.com/2012/07/10/ghost-of-movies-past-natural-born-killers/
    http://rorschachreviews.com/2012/07/08/savages-review/

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

