Screenwriter Profile: James Cameron

The Writer:

James Cameron is the Canadian creative force behind some of the biggest blockbusters of the last three decades. Known for his strong female characters, his spell-binding sci-fi adventures, and (of course) Titanic, two of Cameron’s films have held the title of highest grossing film of all time (Titanic and Avatar). Cameron once said that his five favorite films are The Wizard of Oz, Dr. Strangelove, 2001:  A Space Odyssey, The Godfather, and Taxi Driver.

Credits:

  • Avatar 2 (screenplay) (announced) – 2015
  • Avatar 3 (characters / screenplay) (announced)
  • Terminator 5 (characters) (announced)
  • Battle Angel (screenplay) (announced)
  • Avatar (written by) – 2009
  • Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines (characters) – 2003
  • Dark Angel (TV series) – 2000-2002
  • Titanic (written by) – 1997
  • T2 3-D: Battle Across Time (short) – 1996
  • Strange Days (screenplay / story) – 1995
  • True Lies (screenplay) – 1994
  • Terminator 2: Judgment Day (written by) – 1991
  • The Abyss (written by) – 1989
  • Aliens (screenplay / story) – 1986
  • Rambo: First Blood Part II (screenplay) – 1985
  • The Terminator (written by) – 1984
  • Piranha Part Two: The Spawning (screenplay / as H.A. Milton) – 1981
  • Xenogenesis (short) (writer) – 1978

Quotes:

People call me a perfectionist, but I’m not. I’m a rightist. I do something until it’s right, and then I move on to the next thing.

Well, I see our potential destruction and the potential salvation as human beings coming from technology and how we use it, how we master it and how we prevent it from mastering us. Titanic was as much about that theme as the Terminator films, and in Aliens, it’s the reliance on technology that defeats the marines, but it’s technology being used properly that allows Sigourney’s character to prevail at the end. And Titanic is all about technology, metaphorically as well as on a literal level, because the world was being transformed by the technology at that time. And people were rescued from the Titanic because of wireless technology, and because of the advances that had been made only in the year or so before the ship sank that allowed them to call for help when they were lost at sea in the middle of the North Atlantic. So I think it’s an interesting theme, one that’s always been fascinating for me…

I don’t look at scripts. I just write them.

6 Responses to “Screenwriter Profile: James Cameron”

  1. Hello Mr James Cameron. I have always wanted to talk with you. Even now I’m not sure you will actually get to read this. As I am sure many people wish for the same things I wish for. But, because I’m not yet ready to give up, here it goes.
    Like most people I think I’m a talented person with great ideas. I also understand that a lot of work has to be done before I even have a chance to knock on the door.
    Unlike most people I don’t want you to read a scrip that will blow your mind, as I am sure of my self, I know I have not earned the right to ask such a question. I don’t want you to see my potential and put in the door to be successful. All I wish is to learn form you, take steps to make myself better. After seeing Avatar, I realized that you were the one person that could see my writing as a moving picture. I think most people fell to see how much thought went into every inch of that movie. This is the same way my brain works. I think about all these thing at the same time, and I hardly ever get anything done. No matter how much I right down.
    I started out drawing, but that was not enough to get out what I wanted to say. So I tried what I always hated. Writing. After a while I found that as long as I tried I could get better. Even if the words move on the page as I read, because my eyes and brain can’t get on the same page. For there I started to paint and on to music. I soon realized that I was able to be successful with all of this because of my love for movies.
    So if this some how reaches you. It would be an honor to learn anything you could show me.
    Jacoby A Mckenzie
    Jacobytutu53@yahoo.com

  2. Dear Mr. James Cameron. I don’t know if you are reading this, but I will give it a try. Since I was a little boy I always dreamed of one thing…. Cleaning toilets. I think it would be an honor to clean your toilet Mr. James Cameron. It has been my life’s work mastering the science of toilet cleaning. If you need a toilet cleaned, I am your man for the job. I have cleaned some raunchy ones in my day. If you have a toilet that needs cleaning, just give me a call. It will be good for your family and friends. Nobody likes to see the dark side of a genius when he leaves his bathroom. I’ll do it discreetly. Nobody will even know I was there.

    You can talk to me James. I will listen. Just give me a call at:

    Toilet-man-superhero@yahoo.com.

    You won’t regret this….. Trust me.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

